Recent News
Home / How to / How to Assign Applications to Desktop in OS X

How to Assign Applications to Desktop in OS X

The operating system has become a popular name, much of our time, we dedicate to decide which operating system to settle with. There are a number of operating systems that are in competing to today, from Windows to Linux, from Macintosh to Ubuntu. But need to say, the window has earned a creditable name among all, it has introduced several shiny ideas growing from Windows 98 to Windows 8, the latest version with Metro UI. Let’s focus on the main idea of this article.

In OS X the applications are assigned to the current desktop, by default, so the program windows will stay on the current windows only, despite switching to a different desktop, after opening the program. There are various options through which this can be changed, so that specific program can be assigned to different desktop specifically, or hey remain on all the desktops present.

The easiest way is to assign the program to all desktops. For this the program is to be added to the OS X Dock, the contextual menu appears on right clicking, choosing “ All Desktops “ in the “ Assign to” section that appears from Options submenu. The program will appear on any desktop switched on. This option is very useful in cases of utilities like Finder and the Activity monitor.

Another option available is to assign a specific program to the specific desktop. For this the user must first open Mission Control and then select the desktop where this program is to be assigned, on right clicking the application in the Dock contextual menu will appear choosing the option “ this desktop “, the assignment of this application to the particular desktop is established. The opening of this application the desktop assigned will appear, regardless of any other desktop the user is on. This is useful in keeping programs grouped by functions or by type. The similar ones like the word processing program and the spreadsheet program can be grouped to keep the office work in order.

Ultimately to undo these options for any given program. Arrive at the contextual menu by right click, and choose the option “All “from the option “assign to “. This will remove the opted desktop to the particular program, and in this case it will have to be reassigned to the active space only for the session in a course.

About Yogesh Giri

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

*

You may use these HTML tags and attributes: <a href="" title=""> <abbr title=""> <acronym title=""> <b> <blockquote cite=""> <cite> <code> <del datetime=""> <em> <i> <q cite=""> <strike> <strong>

Scroll To Top